The Association of Brass Band Adjudicators (ABBA) was inaugurated on 24th January 1999 at Dean Clough in Halifax with 22 members present. The first members of the Executive Committee were John Berryman, Roy Newsome, Peter Parkes, David Read (Chair), James Scott and Geoffrey Whitham.

Since that first meeting the Association has grown in strength to over 80 members and is proud that ABBA member adjudicators are predominant in all major brass band competitions throughout the UK and are also represented in Europe and Scandinavia.

The Association of Brass Band Adjudicators currently has amongst its ranks some of the finest brass musicians in the UK and its primary aim is to develop professional standards and further the status of the art of brass band adjudication.